Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

I’m not sure if making cookies is really healthy for me. At least with the testing of different recipes and tricks. I’ve eaten at least three cookies in one hour. Which once in writing may not sound so bad, but my body is feeling a little bit surprised, and I don’t feel as good as I feel I should following a chocolate fest…

On a happier note, I think I’ve inched my way closer to a double chocolate chip cookie success. So although tonight was not a success, the fact that it I’ve seen the light makes for some sort of success. Actually, if we’re being honest here, my mother shined the light in my face, by telling me if I wanted my cookies to not flatten out I should put some oats in it. Next time around, which may be a couple months from now, or maybe even a couple weeks from now, I will add some oats as well as let the dough chill out in the refrigerator for a bit, and perhaps toss in some nuts for fun, and see if that leads me to a cookie heaven… Um, yea. Moving on.

What I did really like about this recipe was that it only calls for 2 oz of melted chocolate in addition to 3/4 ounce of cocoa powder. The cookie is not overpoweringly sweet, I’m thinking that is due to the cocoa powder, and in my books that makes it very, very, very lovable. I wonder what it taste like with dark cocoa powder.

4 oz vegetable shortening
4 oz butter, softened to room temperature
6 oz granulated sugar
6 oz brown sugar, packed
1 tsp baking soda
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
2 oz chocolate chunks, melted and cooled
3/4 oz cocoa powder
8 oz all-purpose flour
4 oz chocolate chips
4 oz white chocolate chips

In a stand mixer, fitted with the paddle attachment, cream together the shortening and butter until combined, about 30 seconds.  Add both the sugars and the baking soda, and on medium speed beat until just combined.  Add eggs, one at a time, beating until thoroughly incorporated, and then beat it in the vanilla, followed by the melted chocolate.  On the lowest speed, beat in the cocoa powder, and then beat in as much of the flour as possible.  Stir in the remaining flour, and lastly add the chocolate chips and stir well just so the chocolate chips are evenly distributed.

Cover the dough, and leave to chill in the refrigerator for about an hour.

Preheat the oven to 375° F (190° C).    Drop rounded teaspoonfuls onto ungreased baking sheets.  Bake for 9 to 10 minutes or until cookies are puffed and the edges look done. Cool on baking sheets for about 10 minutes; remove to wire racks to cool completely.

Recipe courtesy of The Little Guides: Cookies, by Janine Flew, with some very slight modifications.

Leave a Reply

