Beef Quiche Lorraine

I took one bite out of the quiche, and shook my head.  The idea of custard with meat grossed me out.  But as I kept eating, it grew on me.  The egg flavor brings out the best in it, and hilariously we used my sisters pastry dough which had sugar in it.  The sweetness was pleasant though.  I also made the crust way too thin, so pardon the fact that it’s breaking apart.  We’ll pretend that’s the look I was going for.  Who am I kidding…

10 oz short crust pastry
8 oz meat
2 eggs
3 oz cream
1.5 oz mayonnaise
1.5 oz cheddar cheese, shredded
1/4 cup bell pepper, chopped

Preheat oven to 400F° (205C°).

On a lightly floured work surface, roll out dough to 1/4 inch thick. Cut out a 13-inch circle from dough. Press dough onto bottom and up sides of an 11-inch tart pan with a removable bottom; trim dough flush with top edge of pan. Prick bottom all over with a fork. Transfer to a rimmed baking sheet. Freeze until firm, about 30 minutes. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Line tart shell with parchment paper, and fill with pie weights or dried beans. Bake until dough starts to feel firm on the edges, about 20 minutes. Remove parchment and weights; continue baking until crust is pale golden brown, about 10 minutes. Let cool completely on a wire rack. Leave oven on.

In a medium sized mixing bowl, whisk together eggs, cream, and mayonnaise.  Stir in meat and cheese.  Pour mixture into crust shell.  Scatter bell peppers on the top.  Bake until puffed and pale golden brown, about 25 minutes. Let cool at least 30 minutes before serving.

2 thoughts on “Beef Quiche Lorraine

  1. I’m seeing a lot of crustless quiches flying around the web, if you want to make your task easier…

    …I might make one of them in a couple days. Need to buy me some broccoli first.

Leave a Reply

