My Sister’s Keeper

I couldn’t find the Grapes of Wrath, most likely because I didn’t look hard enough.  Good news though!   I saw My Sister’s Keeper, read the back cover’s description and , this should be nice.  I read the reviews for this book after I read the book, because I’m cool like that.  Apparently, people either love it or hate it.  However, I did happen to stumble upon some crazy, negative reviews about To Kill a Mockingbird so I’ll hold my opinion that reviews are nutsy!  Just keepin’ it real, yo…

The plot was surrounding a girl with cancer and a younger sister who is her genetic match and thus is of help to her big sister in any medical circumstance.  Little sister, Anna, is growing up, and is reaching a point where she doesn’t want to help anymore.  She doesn’t want big sister to die, she just wants to be able to live her own life.  Realistically speaking, if you’ve helped all your life, how would you stop now as you’re reaching a stage where you’re more cognitively aware of the consequences of your deeds?  It’s one thing if you shriek as a child and refuse to give in, which is pretty hard when you’re fighting adults.  But can you live with your conscience if you say no and your only sister and only friend dies as a result?  Better for you to die, or just suffer some complications, than the one you love.  Mushy, but you know it’s true.

That said, as I was reading the book, I was thinking that if  I were the cancer patient, I don’t think I’d want my sister to go through that.  As it is the girl suffers so much, and if I were her, I’d be thinking ok maybe the fight is over…  Granted I am pretty darn weak, so what the hey…

The parents are what makes the book interesting.  The father, a firefighter, tries to hold it together, and seems likeable enough in the beginning.   When things get tough at home for Anna, he appears to be on her side and takes her to the station to stay so that she can clear her mind and think more rationally.  The mother is over-zealous to see her daughter make it, and sacrifices the well-being of her two other children in the process.  I would presume the rational is they have their health, and health is everything, so what more do they need?  Fair enough, point well-taken.  Often what’s forgotten is just because somebody is in tact physically, that doesn’t mean they’re completely okay emotionally and mentally.

SpoilerSOdon’tREAD: What’s irks me is the fact that Anna is not coincidentally a donor match for her sister.  Her parents had her genetically engineered.  She was created to be her sister’s keeper, and the notion of creating a child and then taking away their free will is so disturbing.  As far as the story goes, they didn’t realize it would go so far, it was intended to be just a quicky thing at birth.  It still doesn’t sit well with me.  I guess this is mainly because, as a child growing up, the one thing my parents made a big deal off was that you can’t take anything from a child.  Imagine if that something is part of their health and well-being.   Eeeesh!  I don’t really think Anna is disturbed though, because it is her sister and after so many years, this is life as normal.

2 thoughts on “My Sister’s Keeper

  1. re: “that doesn’t mean they’re completely okay emotionally and mentally” It makes no sense for the mother to think the other sibs are fine emotionally and mentally–after how fine is she?

    Sounds like a book to cry over 😥

    Also, the spoiler notice was no deterrent–spoiler notices tend to be that way. And, agreed.

Leave a Reply

