Music to my ears

The other day I saw these words, but I didn’t know then that they were lyrics and thought it was just a poem.

Fathers, be good to your daughters
Daughters will love like you do
Girls become lovers who turn into mothers
So mothers, be good to your daughters too

Then I read that the person liked the song, and I go Oh it’s a song!  Before even listening to the song, I spun a peppy sounding thing in my head and was like that must be a cool song.  Just for the heck of it, I went to listen and see if I was right.  Dead wrong.  The dude sounds drunk or something, it’s traumatizing.  I guess that must have been the only way they could get him to sing something so mushy.  *snicker*

On the topic of music, NaBloPoMo’s prompt the other day was about music and whether I prefer music with lyrics or music without.  And yes, it lasted about 3 days before I figured prompts are pointless for me.  I like nasheeds, so it’s really all about the lyrics which I mostly don’t understand because I never learned Arabic. *sniff*  But still about the lyrics and never about the music.  I don’t get the logic behind listening to a song where you can’t understand what they’re saying, or in some cases screaming.  If it requires captions to be on, there’s something wrong people!   Does it get cooler than this?

And then there’s always the songs my brother makes up, and those lyrics…  They’re just wow, and nothing would be more fun than to record him, but I might get in trouble for violating the copyright. 😉

One thought on “Music to my ears

  1. No, it does not get cooler than that nasheed!

    Ah, the all-important copyright…bummer about that.

    And there’s always Plinky for prompts when NaBloPoMo is on the blink. Prompts don’t work well for me, I’ve noticed. It’s very hard for me write naturally, to not sound as if I’m writing for that fourth grade essay where they’re all, “Tell us what you did in the summer.” My mind always freezes, just like it did back then!

Leave a Reply

